Public Safety & Justice Services Mission Statement: The Department of Public Safety & Justices Services’ mission is to provide a wide range of public safety and justice services to residents and first responders of Cuyahoga County, while embracing current and new technologies in the public safety field.


You are here: Home > CECOMS

Cuyahoga Emergency Communications System (CECOMS)


2017 Regional AMBER Alert Training

Media Alert Form  

The Cuyahoga Emergency Communications System (CECOMS) is a 24-Hour, 7-Day a week, public safety communication system that provides emergency dispatch services, 911 call answering, Emergency Alert System broadcasts and other communications services.

Every 911 call that is placed from a cellular phone in Cuyahoga County is first routed to CECOMS, where call-takers quickly ascertain the location of the emergency and transfer the call to the appropriate public safety dispatch center.

CECOMS also provides a wide range of critical communications services including:

  • Emergency Medical Dispatch (EMD)
  • Mutual Aid Box Alarm System (MABAS) assistance
  • Police, Fire and EMS dispatch services for requesting communities
  • Coordinates interoperable communications during an emergency
  • Operation of the County’s Hospital Restriction and Override Program
  • Emergency Alert System (EAS) broadcasts
  • AMBER ALERT broadcasts

CECOMS Mission Statement

Empowered by Federal and State regulations and advisory support from emergency boards and committees, the Division serves all citizens by the coordination of emergency services including 9-1-1, hazardous materials, disaster planning, and public education to maintain a healthy and safe environment through the efficient and effective application of resources and technology.


Contact Us

Cuyahoga Emergency Communications System (CECOMS)

88 Center St. Suite B100
Bedford, Ohio 44146
24 hour Dispatch Center Phone Number: 216-771-1363

Shawn Smith, Senior Operations Supervisor
Contact: 440-703-3565, sksmith@cuyahogacounty.us

Jacquelynn Costa, Quality Assurance/Quality Improvement Supervisor
Contact: 440-703-3560, jcosta@cuyahogacounty.us

Stephen Kasik, Operations Supervisor
Contact: 440-703-3561, skasik@cuyahogacounty.us

Chris Minek, Operations Supervisor
Contact: 440-703-3563, cminek@cuyahogacounty.us

Joanne Segul, Operations Supervisor
Contact: 440-703-3564, jsegul@cuyahogacounty.us

Peter Greene, Communications Planner
Contact: 440-703-3567, pgreene@cuyahogacounty.us

Nancy Kolcan, 911 Coordinator
Contact: 440-703-3562, nkolcan@cuyahogacounty.us



Please watch the 9-1-1 Public Safety Announcement.