Public Safety & Justice Services Mission Statement: To provide a wide range of public safety and justice services to residents and first responders of Cuyahoga County, while embracing current and new technologies in the public safety field.

You are here: Home > Divisions > CECOMS > Amber Alerts

CECOMS and the Amber Alert System

The Northeast Ohio Regional Amber Alert Plan was initiated in 2002 and covers the following counties: Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Erie, Geauga, Huron, Lake, Lorain, Medina, and Summit. The Cuyahoga Emergency Communications System (CECOMS) is the Amber Alert activation point for all of the counties covered by the Northeast Ohio region with the exception of Summit County.

The State of Ohio requires very specific criteria be met in order to activate an Amber Alert. If a Law Enforcement Agency in the Northeast Ohio region is investigating an abduction that meets the criteria listed below, and would like to issue an Amber Alert, CECOMS should be contacted by phone at 216-771-1363 to initiate activation.

Northeast Ohio Activation Criteria

  1. The child is under 18 years of age.
  2. There is credible information that suggests that the child was forcibly or intentionally removed or lured away from their location and remains missing.
  3. The law enforcement agency believes the child is in danger of serious bodily harm or death.
  4. There is enough descriptive information about the child, and/or alleged abductor(s), and/or alleged abductor(s) vehicle to believe an immediate broadcast alert will help.
If you have any questions or need further information, please contact the CECOMS Center at 216-771-1363. The CECOMS staff will assist in any way they can, however, only the applicable Law Enforcement Agency can determine if the need for Amber Alert activation is necessary.


  1. Introduction to the Northeast Ohio AMBER Alert Plan
  2. Introduction to the Northeast Ohio AMBER Alert Committee
  3. State of Ohio Amber Alert Plan

Amber Alert Forms